SyncMe Wireless

2014/11/14 at 12:44

I’ve been using Rsync Backup on my Wiko Cink Peax 2 smartphone for half a year. Two days ago, it stopped working. That is, it refused to connect to my Synology NAS (DS 214se), complaining about „no matching algo kex“. There’s a lot of discussion going on about that error on the developer’s website:

Automatic Nightly Backups for Your Android Device to Your Computer | Guysoft’s Weblog

The reason for the error: The latest operating system update on the NAS removed some old SSH ciphers that were insecure. Rsync Backup uses those ciphers. The fix would be to re-add them, so I tried that. The result was that the SSH daemon on the NAS would refuse to start up. Also, fiddling with insecure ciphers isn’t particularly secure. The real fix would be to use secure ciphers for Rsync Backup, but apparently the developer has no plans to do that. So, looking for a replacement.syncmewireless

On the Play Store, I found SyncMe Wireless. Wow, what a nice tool! Its usability is brilliant, kudos to the author!

On startup, it ran me through the process of finding the computer to back up to, by scanning the local network for Windows computers. My Synology NAS are Linux boxes, but they have SMB enabled (Synology calls that Windows File Service, fair enough), so their drives and (shared) folders show up just like Windows drives. SyncMe uses plaintext login (username/password), so I’d recommend to use it only in a safe environment, which is what I had been intending to do, anyway.

After storing the connection information, SyncMe asked to create a sync profile, which in my case is a simple backup profile for the photos. So I did that, selecting the destination folder (on the NAS), and the source folder (DCIM/Camera on the smartphone). I deselected the SyncMe option to overwrite any existing files in the destination folder, so it will copy over only new photos, which is exactly what I want.

After saving the profile, it’s now a matter of three taps to back up my photos: open the app, select the profile, run the profile. Very neat, very quick.

Entry filed under: Computer, English, Linux, Synology. Tags: , , .

Synology Network Backup failing with rsync error MediaWiki toolbar missing after DSM update


November 2014
M D M D F S S
« Jan   Dez »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Neueste Beiträge

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 208 Followern an

Face


